Towns and Villages
General Information
Portumna Lawrence Town Kelly Historic Route 1603 Hymany Way
Clonfert Aughrim Madden Beara Breifne Way Accommodation
Eyrecourt Ahascragh Home Cycling Route News Links Enquiries

Clan: Madden

Other branches of the clan: O'Madden, Madan, Madigan, O'Maddegane, Madgen, MacAvaddy.
Irish Clan Name: Ò Madàin,
Old Irish Clan Name: O'Madadhàin.
County Mayo: Mac a' Mhadhaidh anglicised MacAvaddy and sometimes Madden

The family name Madden is derived from two Irish roots and one English one. The Madden family of Athgarret in County Kildare are the descendants of an Irish family whose Gaelic name was Ó Madáin. This sept originated in County Galway, in Ireland's western province of Connacht. They were a branch of a population group known as the Uí Maine (Hy Many in English) whose home territory covered the centre of County Galway, southern parts of County Roscommon and western parts of County Offaly. Their lands were in the Barony of Longford, in south-west Galway, and in the Offaly Barony of Lusnagh, on the other side of the River Shannon from Galway. County Offaly, called Queen's County during the English administration, is in the Eastern Irish province of Leinster.

Lawrencetown, Clonfert and Eyrecourt are part of the ancestral home of the Maddens and form a stage of the Beara-Breifne Greenway which is based on the historic march of O'Sullivan Beara in 1603.

Click here for more detailed info on the Madden Clan